top of page
  • Writer's picturehealthyandwell

Guided Meditation for Beginners

Healthy + Well writer: Shruti Sathish

Image via Unsplash


If you're relatively new to meditation, like me, guided meditations are very helpful! Guided meditation is meditation led by someone else - whether that be in an in-person group setting or through audio recording. During my time on campus, I have enjoyed doing guided meditations via audio recording in my dorm room. I really like that someone is telling me exactly what to do; I can focus more on the meditation itself, rather than worrying about whether what I am doing is of high quality and will actually benefit me.


Something I’ve discovered is that although many guided meditations bring a sense of peace and relaxation over me, they are not all specifically targeted at bringing about a state of calmness. For example, one morning, I was feeling a little disconnected and my thoughts were all over the place, but I only had a few minutes available. I was able to quickly find a guided meditation on Youtube that was centered around helping one stay present in the moment and focused, and it was only three minutes long (please see “Three Minute Meditation” below)! I have come across guided meditations online that range anywhere from 2 minutes to 20 minutes, which I think is great because depending on my intentions for the meditation session and the time I have available, I can select one accordingly.


I would highly encourage everyone to do a little research about guided meditations and begin implementing them into their life periodically, as I have been doing recently. The meditations are often very simple to follow and don’t require any equipment, which is great! Below are a few of my favorite meditations:


- “Three Minute Meditation” by Lizzy Hill (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iebciuBXCh4&t=77s)


- “Fifteen Minute Guided Meditation to Find Peace in Uncertain Times” by Boho Beautiful Yoga (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W19PdslW7iw)


- “Miracle Morning Meditation: 5 Minutes to a More Productive, Joyful Day” by Alisha Yoga (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=taxs_vhlxgs)




20 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page