top of page
  • Writer's picturehealthyandwell

Q + A With Glory Harmon: Founder of Afro Jewelry and UR First-Year Student

Healthy + Well writer: Shruti Sathish

Some of the jewelry available for purchase.

All photos in this post are courtesy of Sherley Arias-Pimentel and Madyson Fitzgerald


How have things been going for you since spring break?

Since the break, I’ve been really busy with trying to manage both my schoolwork and creating a business. However, I’ve had more time now to actually sit down and do many things for my business such as make a website, re-look at all my pieces, name everything, set prices, and seek advice from some trusted individuals. I hope to officially launch the business in early May. So, although it has been stressful, it’s been good to have the time to work on something I enjoy. 


Could you tell us a little about your business and the jewelry you will be selling?

My business is called Afro Jewelry. All the pieces come from a country called Liberia that is located in West Africa. Liberia is also where my family is from. The jewelry is hand-made by Liberian artists who create the pieces for their living. Artists start off by choosing a pattern, and depending on whether a piece will be woven, beaded, or threaded, the time they spend working on it will vary. The jewelry comes in a variety of colors and designs and is beautiful.

Why is your business so important to you?

I would like to raise awareness and support for not only local Liberian families/businesses but the entire continent of Africa. Jewelry is just one one the many amazing products Africans can create. I hope people appreciate not only the skill, effort, and beauty of the jewelry, but also celebrate the various African cultures. By purchasing my products, I hope to inspire people of all races and ethnicities to learn more about Africa and possibly travel to the amazing countries there. 


How has working on your business helped you stay positive and cope with these times of online classes and social distancing?

Working on my business has actually helped quite a bit. Originally, I was just at home doing my regular work, but working on starting a business has given me many opportunities to do new and exciting things. These include getting to spend more time outdoors to take pictures with the jewelry, creating a website, making social media pages for my business, and more. So, the business has definitely kept me busy and has taught me to appreciate my spare time. Sometimes I come to realizations like, “Oh, I actually have time to do this now and should do it!” Also, working with the jewelry has helped me see the beauty in everyday things. This always brings a sense of positivity into my day and makes me happy. So, in general, creating a business that involves art and jewelry has really helped me stay positive and cope with everything else going on since it has given me the opportunity to take time to appreciate things like hand-made jewelry that may not always be given much time and attention.


24 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page